Insomnia

B&B Il Rossellino Pienza "Stairways"

Break of Dawn Pienza

Iron Ring on the Wall of Pienza

Another sip of coffee
As I light a cigarette-
In the dim of the night
Alert under the light.
 
Insomnia set me free,
Awake I scream silently,
Grant me a courtesy
That my mind may rest merrily. 
 
The hour ticks away eternity,
My thoughts whirl randomly. 
Waikiki!
How I wish to be there funnily.
 
Oh, my restless mental state!
Let not this be my fate;
I would vanish in a haze
To find peace in a laze.
 
In the dull of the night,
I plead with might-
For dreams to take flight,
So I may sleep through tonight.
 
Another sip of coffee
As I light a cigarette?
Catastrophe!
I laugh in agony.
And in that droopy
Awful parade,
Insomnia-
At the edge of mania,
Sets me free
…Finally.
 

* Photos taken in the Renaissance City – Pienza, Italy

                                                
Leave a Reply

